Loading Changes

Upcoming Changes › California

Changes Search and Views Navigation

Changes Views Navigation

Notice: Utilizing the form controls will dynamically update the content

January 2022

California: Agricultural worker overtime requirements change

January 1, 2022

On September 12, 2016, Gov. Brown signed a law extending overtime benefits to agricultural workers. Previously, agricultural workers had been exempt from the state's overtime requirements. The new law provides a phase-in schedule for agricultural overtime requirements as follows: More than 25 employees January 1, 2019 - overtime pay due when 9 1/2 hours are worked in one workday or over 55 hours in a workweek; January 1, 2020 - overtime pay due when 9 hours are worked in one…

Find out more »

California: State minimum wage increases go into effect

January 1, 2022

California's minimum wage will increase over the next several years as follows: Employers with 26 or more employees: January 1, 2022 - $15.00 Employers with 25 or fewer employees: January 1, 2022 - $14.00 January 1, 2023 - $15.00 Beginning on January 1, 2023, for employers with 26 or more employees and January 1, 2024, for employers with 25 or fewer employees, California will increase its minimum wage by the lesser of: 3.5 percent and the rate of change in…

Find out more »

January 2023

California: Agricultural worker overtime requirements for employers with fewer than 25 employees change

January 1, 2023

On September 12, 2016, Gov. Brown signed a law extending overtime benefits to agricultural workers. Previously, agricultural workers had been exempt from the state's overtime requirements. The new law provides a phase-in schedule for agricultural overtime requirements as follows: More than 25 employees January 1, 2019 - overtime pay due when 9 1/2 hours are worked in one workday or over 55 hours in a workweek; January 1, 2020 - overtime pay due when 9 hours are worked in one…

Find out more »

California: State minimum wage increases go into effect

January 1, 2023

California's minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $15.00 on January 1, 2023. Beginning on January 1, 2023, for employers with 26 or more employees and January 1, 2024, for employers with 25 or fewer employees, California will increase its minimum wage by the lesser of: 3.5 percent and the rate of change in the averages of the most recent July 1 to June 30, inclusive, period over the preceding July 1 to June 30,…

Find out more »

January 2024

California: Agricultural worker overtime requirements for employers with fewer than 25 employees change

January 1, 2024

On September 12, 2016, Gov. Brown signed a law extending overtime benefits to agricultural workers. Previously, agricultural workers had been exempt from the state's overtime requirements. The new law provides a phase-in schedule for agricultural overtime requirements as follows: More than 25 employees January 1, 2019 - overtime pay due when 9 1/2 hours are worked in one workday or over 55 hours in a workweek; January 1, 2020 - overtime pay due when 9 hours are worked in one…

Find out more »

California: State minimum wage increases go into effect

January 1, 2024

Beginning on January 1, 2023, for employers with 26 or more employees and January 1, 2024, for employers with 25 or fewer employees, California will increase its minimum wage by the lesser of: 3.5 percent and the rate of change in the averages of the most recent July 1 to June 30, inclusive, period over the preceding July 1 to June 30, inclusive, period for the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics nonseasonally adjusted United States Consumer Price Index for…

Find out more »

January 2025

California: Agricultural worker overtime requirements for employers with fewer than 25 employees change

January 1, 2025

On September 12, 2016, Gov. Brown signed a law extending overtime benefits to agricultural workers. Previously, agricultural workers had been exempt from the state's overtime requirements. The new law provides a phase-in schedule for agricultural overtime requirements as follows: More than 25 employees January 1, 2019 - overtime pay due when 9 1/2 hours are worked in one workday or over 55 hours in a workweek; January 1, 2020 - overtime pay due when 9 hours are worked in one…

Find out more »

California: State minimum wage increases go into effect

January 1, 2025

Beginning on January 1, 2023, for employers with 26 or more employees and January 1, 2024, for employers with 25 or fewer employees, California will increase its minimum wage by the lesser of: 3.5 percent and the rate of change in the averages of the most recent July 1 to June 30, inclusive, period over the preceding July 1 to June 30, inclusive, period for the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics nonseasonally adjusted United States Consumer Price Index for…

Find out more »
+ Export Events