- This change has passed.
Vermont: Sick leave minimum hours increase
January 1, 2019
On March 9, 2016, Gov. Shumlin signed a law that will require businesses to provide employees with paid sick leave starting January 1, 2017. The law will require businesses to give employees a minimum of 1 hour of leave for every 52 hours worked. Between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2018, business will be able to cap the amount of sick leave employees accrue to 24 hours per year. After December 31, 2018, the cap increases to 40 hours per year. Other requirements and restrictions apply.
For more information, please read Vermont House Bill 187